Honey Sweetened Iced Green Tea {Tazo Tea Copycat}

Out of all the iced tea recipes I’ve come up with….this is the favorite. I’ve made this tea several times for different occasions and every time it’s a huge hit. When I show up at get- togethers I’m always asked, “Did you make the TEA?”.

img_3545

This tea is a copycat for Tazo Iced Green Tea, which I bought on a total whim at a health food store for an afternoon lunch with a friend. We both fell absolutely in love with it and I knew immediately that I had to recreate it.

fullsizeoutput_2cc

Now that it’s summer, it’s the perfect refreshment to enjoy with friends. Go ahead and make a double patch, you’ll thank me later.

Here’s My Notes:

 1)The secret to this tea tasting like the real thing is using Tazo Zen  tea bags…. it’s infused with spearmint & lemongrass.

2)As I say in every iced tea recipe….iced tea tastes better after it has time to chill. Please, please chill it for at least 2 hours before you drink it 🙏.

3)I love my tea sweet, not lightly sweetened or a hint of sweet, so I add two cups of sweetener per gallon. I know that two cups of sugar may not be everyone’s cup of tea (😉) , so feel free to half the sugar.

4)After making this tea several times, I like the flavor of more honey. I use half honey, half sugar. Again, feel free to half the sugar or sweeten to your taste…to each his own.

 

Honey Sweetened Iced Green Tea

Yields: 1 gallon

Ingredients;

Tazo Zen tea bags

4 black tea bags, I use Red Rose tea

6 cups water

1 cup honey

1 cup sugar

lemon slices & fresh mint are nice garnishes

Directions:

In a medium sized saucepan bring the water and tea bags to just a boil; steep for about 15-20 minutes.

In a 1 gallon pitcher pour in honey and sugar, once the tea has steeped add it to the pitcher. Stir well to dissolve the sugar and place in the fridge to chill for a least 2 hours before serving. Garnish with slices of lemon and a handful of fresh mint.

Enjoy & Happy Summer !

 

fullsizeoutput_307

enjoying my iced green tea in my favorite cup

Leave a Reply

