Gluten-Free Banana Bread


This gluten-free version blows regular banana bread out of the water. My friends and I can’t get enough of it. I’ve made this gluten-free quick bread over and over the past few weeks….we’re nowhere close to being tired of it. It’s a quick breakfast, perfect topped with salted butter with your afternoon coffee, or a comforting after dinner treat. 

Here’s My Notes:

1)I like to use Gluten-Free multi-purpose baking mixes, they’re easy and have everything you need…you don’t have to worry about finding any “special” ingredients. 

2)I do like to use a little xanthan gum, but it’s easy to find at any grocery now.

3)I like to use a rice baking mix and a garbanzo bean baking mix

4)To me…the key to a perfect banana bread every time is not overfilling the pan. If you have too much batter for your loaf pan, simply make a few muffins with the leftover batter.

5)I have always liked making my banana bread the day before I plan on serving it. Banana bread is always better the next day. 

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

Yields: 1 loaf 

Ingredients:

1 cup garbanzo bean baking mix 

1 cup rice flour baking mix

3/4 teaspoon xanthan gum 

1 teaspoon baking powder 

1/2 teaspoon baking soda 

1/2 teaspoon salt 

1 cup brown sugar 

2 eggs

1/3 cup oil, I use grapeseed or canola 

1/3 cup sour cream 

1/3 cup whole milk buttermilk 

1 cup very ripe banana, mashed (I use 3 bananas)

1 teaspoon vanilla 


Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray a loaf pan with non-stick cooking spray. 

In a large mixing bowl, combine all the ingredients with a rubber spatula. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan. Sprinkle the top evenly with about 1/4 cup brown sugar. 

Then bake in preheated oven for about 55 minutes – 1 hour. Allow the loaf to cool for at least an hour for cutting. Enjoy !

Leave a Reply

