Sweet & Salty Marshmallow Treats 

I wanted to transform some not-so-exciting organic honey nut cereal (that I bought on sale) into something amazing … I knew exactly how I would do it. 

Instead of using rice krispie cereal to make traditional marshmallow treats, I used the honey nut cereal. I also substituted 1/2 of the cereal for crushed potato chips for a salty & sweet version of a classic treat. I must warn you though….these are addictive! And with the white chocolate drizzle…. they’re even more enticing!

Here’s My Notes:

1)I wanted my treats to be thick, instead of using a 9×13-inch baking pan, I used a 8-inch square pan.

2)I can’t emphasize enough how simple these are to make.  The sprinkles are perfect for a kid’s birthday party. 

Sweet & Salty Marshmallow Treats 

Yields: 16 marshmallow treat triangles 

Ingredients

3 Tablespoons butter 

1 (16oz.) package mini marshmallows 

3 cups honey nut cereal 

3 cups potato chips, crushed 

White chocolate chips, melted 

Sprinkles 

Directions 

In a large pot over medium heat, melt butter. Add in mini marshmallows, and stir until completely melted. Remove from heat and immediately stir in the cereal and crushed chips. Press firmly into a baking pan.  Cool completely, about 15 minutes, before cutting into bars.

Assembly 

With a fork, simply drizzle the white chocolate over each bar and decorate with the sprinkles. These are best eaten the same day.  Store the leftovers in a plastic bag. 

Enjoy ! 

                                                          


Leave a Reply

